To work or not to work, that is the question

I have to say right now that I’m a little bit disappointed. I’m currently on the look out for some good desk options. So naturally, I typed ‘desks’ into the search option of Pinterest. I honestly didn’t find much of what I like on it. And that’s a first. Usually I find too much of what I like on Pinterest, but never nothing at all. Can anyone give me some advice on what a good desk would look like? And where I should put it? Something affordable would be great! 🙂

10 responses

  1. This is the desk I ordered for my new place. I haven’t gotten it yet so I can’t yet attest to how easily or not it is to put together, but you can head back to my blog for an update on that next week! 😉 http://www.walmart.com/ip/Mainstays-L-Shaped-Desk-with-Hutch-Multiple-Finishes/17164050 (of course, it was $89 when I ordered it last week…)

  2. I spent a lot of time looking for the right desk. I have an inexpensive glass and metal desk in our guest room and I have a standing height desk (made from different Ikea components) to the side in our living room. I think you should first decide what look you’re going for & then you might be able to find something more to your liking!

  3. West Elm, Crate and Barrel, Pottery Barn, Homesense (We have this in Canada), HomeGoods, Target etc. Those are all great places to find desks…My desk is from IKEA, and I love it!

    She has a great desk, all done from IKEA. Where I found my inspiration! http://www.younghouselove.com/2012/08/house-crashing-swanky-panky/

    And as designers, we love creating great finds ;). Good luck!

    1. Thanks for the great tips! And of course great inspiration. I guess I’ll have to get off my lazy butt and head to the stores!

      1. Haha totally. I’d take a pic of my desk, but it is totally covered in stuff ; ) Good luck!

  4. I love the options from IKEA. You can basically build your own from the components. If I didn’t have my dad’s old oak rolltop, I would totally go that route.

    1. Ikea can be really great but a lot of the times I think it’s more geared towards people who want to put it together themselves — and I’m not one of those people haha.

      1. Haha – That is very true.

  5. I know what you mean. I still sit on the floor with my computer propped up on a box. So sad, but I haven’t found anything that wows me.

    1. Exactly. You don’t want to buy just anything!

Leave a Reply

